Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2003-05-19 - 2:39 p.m.

Ut oh...time for Gorm the Techie to tackle a major PC problem.

Last night, the hard drive on Rhiannon's PC started making grinding noises...and then came to what the folks at Six Flags Great America used to refer to as "A complete and final stop".

The heads try to turn, but read write errors are all over the place...it's dead Jim.

So, tonight I get to try and install a new hard disk (not an incredibly difficult task, really), and then see if I can find the "System Restore CD" provided by HP to rebuild the PC.

Of course, all the applications and data will then be lost,but such is life.

I'm hopeful that when relieved of the burden of loading the Operating System, that the old drive might limp along long enough to at least get whatever is deemed important off of there...we'll see, I guess.

Cross your fingers.

previous - next

Random

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!