Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2003-05-20 - 9:00 a.m.

Well...good news and bad news...

Good news...got the new 40 GB hard drive into Rhi's computer, found the system restore disks, and all is well there, the computer is functioning again, and better than before even.

Bad news...don't seem to be able to get much off of the old drive...although I'll keep trying (it works for about 5-10 minutes, then conks out...hopefully I can transfer judiciously).

Worse news...one of the files that I *NEED* to get off of the old disk is the TaxCut2001 copy of our 2001 tax return, because we got the lovely "You're being audited" letter from the IRS...something about the income I had while I was a self-employed person for a while and possibly being misreported...

They might be right, I dunno, I just accepted what the program told me, and although I remember putting the 1099 income in there, maybe I didn't...I'd need to check...but I can't, because the data is on the old disk.

I still have the CD's to install the program, and that's all well and good. I just need to know, did *I* screw up (in which case I get to suck it up and beg to make payments), did TaxCut screw up (in which case H&R Block gets to pay, that's in their guarantee), or has the IRS screwed up (in which case it's cry havoc and let loose the dogs of war time).

Regretfully, my money is on the "I screwed up" category...we'll see.

In other news, Sapphire prep is progressing. Garb is (mostly) packed. All the stuff we're *planning* on wearing is packed, we're down to packing the reserve garb for the anticipated Heavens Opening and causing people to debate the cost of Gopher Wood and the exact length of a cubit which accompanies Memorial Day Weekend events.

Still haven't finished the armor...that's on the plate for tonight. It *will* get done.

previous - next

Random

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!