Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2003-02-18 - 1:14 p.m.

Well, it might be progress...

Had a phone interview for a 6 month contract gig over at Capital One (purveyors of fine tools to get yourself into debt with, I'm a satisfied customer...probably too satisfied), and it went *very*, *very*, *very* well. The Manager said he thought I sounded like a good fit, and he was telling me things about the project and work conditions that seemed like "Okay, when you're here, you're gonna want to know this" kinda stuff. He has 5 more interviews to do, but I'm supposed to hear, possibly EOD tomorrow, more likely Thursday.

And then, while I was working on getting my ducks in a row for that possibility, I got a phone call for yet another interview, tomorrow at 4 PM, for a permanent job as a DBA with a large shipping company.

I still want to be a teacher someday, but these may be good ports to take cover in while I get prepared to get a good teaching job. There's a program you can enter that will take someone like me (Math background, but no teaching credentials at all), and push them through an intensive 6 month nights and weekends (mostly nights, like 4 weekends over the time) cram course, and after that, you've got a license. Not a provisional license, a full honest to goodness "Why yes, we can hire you immediately" teaching license.

Problem is, it's 6 months and $5000. The next shot at it starts in September...right around when Golden Dolphin Herald stuff should start winding down (since I step down next January). It might be an option. Something to pursue, at least.

previous - next

Random

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!