Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2003-02-20 - 9:46 a.m.

9:46 AM...means 2 hours and 14 minutes or less until I'm supposed to know if I have a job starting soon or if I'm still in the 6.something percent of the American Workforce collecting unemployment.

I know the interview went well. I know the manager sounded like he wanted me...but...he interviewed 5 other people...was one of them just a tiny bit better? I *know* I know my shit, and I could do the job, but could someone else do it better? Or at least, could someone sound enough better over the phone to get the contract instead of me.

Also went to a technical interview for another position yesterday. It's a permanent gig, which is good, but what concerns me is that it's possibly a level of DBA that is above my head, and I think that came through in the interview. I was nothing but completely honest about the fact that I've never done database replication before on SQL Server. I have an academic understanding of how it works, and I know that SQL Server makes it pretty easy to do that kind of task...but was it enough?

God, I want to get into teaching...the 6 month contract would be perfect for that, because it would be winding down just when the school year started, and contracts for teachers begin. But I can't get anyone to review my transcripts and tell me if I'm even marginally qualified to bother applying for the positions...I don't want to waste my time, and more importantly the time of my references, applying for jobs I legally can't do.

Monday it will be 4 weeks since I was let go. I know that's fairly short for a time between sudden job changes in this economy, but I *need* to get this over with.

Come on phone...ring...tell me I'm the man...or that I'm not...this waiting is driving me insane. It's also keeping me from getting things done that I *need* to get done.

9:59 AM...another 13 minutes gone...no call yet...too soon...another two hours to go.

previous - next

Random

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!