Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2002-05-20 - 11:39 a.m.

Went to see Attack of the Clones on Saturday night, in a mostly jam packed theatre...some thoughts...

(some spoilers mixed in here...but truly, we already know how the story is going to end, don't we?)

1. It's fun to see movies with folks who aren't analyzing the movie, just go with it. They cheered the stuff Lucas wanted us to cheer at, booed the stuff they wanted us to boo at, and generally behaved like a nice little geek audience :)

2. The actor who plays Anakin Skywalker had absolutely no emotion whatsoever for the first half of the movie. No anger, no fear, no happiness. He delievered the line expressing his love for Padame in exactly the same tone as he would have placed an order at the Jedi cafeteria..."I'll have a double cheeseburger, and the Senator from Naboo to go please".

3. Do *not*, I repeat *not* piss off the Muppets...yes, I know...Yoda is computer generated now, but still...he was a Muppet first! (well..he'll be a Muppet later already...oh crap...where's my guide to describing the future past tense again...)

4. Things I need to know the answer to:

  • If you're a tuscan raider, and you just captured a human female, and you're obviously not using her to do the chores and whatnot (since she was tied up to a wooden frame in the hut, rather than slaving over a stove making dinner), what else are you using her for? Guess it's just me...

  • Who breaks the stormtroopers in Episode 3? I don't mean who turns them into tools of evil, we know that already, I mean who makes it so they can't shoot straight anymore. In Attack of the Clones, they're hitting and killing *everything*, in The next three movies (okay, 3 of the next four, I guess), they can't hit the broad side of a Star Cruiser...so who broke them?

  • If you're going to execute someone in a show execution by chaining them to a post and letting wild beasts eat them...don't you at least do a pat search for lockpicks first?

  • Likewise, if you're going to execute a pair of Jedi, the strongest force in the Galaxy...don't you just shoot them dead, rather than chaining them to a post and letting wild beasts eat them? Another entry for the "When I'm an evil dictator" list, I guess.

  • Just how much did the anti-smoking folks give Lucas? You had to love the "Hey man, want some death sticks?" routine in the bar.

  • So now the character widly vilified in Phantom Menace as being racist and played stupid is now the Dupe that allows the Empire to form...is this a deliberate point? More importantly, does Jar Jar bite it in Episode 3 and will we all cheer when it happens?

But still, I liked the movie. I'd see it again...although not for $7.75.

Aside from that, the weekend was more or less of a success. We got the woodworking for Beth's pavillion done, and also found out the problem with the sewing machine. The question now is if we can get the replacement part from Sears.

Also discovered that there is a "walking foot" attachment for the sewing machine. WE're going to try that on the canvas for Beth's pavillion...it might just work!

Okay, gotta go look like I'm working. Laters

previous - next

Random

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!