Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2004-10-28 - 9:08 a.m.

(Flipping to ESPN.COM)

Yep, the game summary matches what I remember from last night.

(Flipping to the calendar to make sure it isn't April 1st)

Nope, it's late October

(Flipping to MLB.COM figuring that Selig has decided it needs to be best of 9 now or something)

Wow...four wins *is* enough.

(Flipping to weather.com to check the conditions in hell)

high of 20 degrees, with massive ice storms expected to continue for the forseeable future.

(flipping to catholic.org to find out if this can count as the first miracle for the Reliquary of the Sacrifice of the Foot)

Hmm...no information here...well...it has only been 9 hours...gotta figure the vatican needs a little more time on that one

(Checking billbuckner.net)

"Free at Last, Free at Last, thank God Almighty, Free at Last"

(Checking curses.com)

Hmm...webserver currently down...

OKay...I think that's enough evidence...I can believe it.

Ladies and Gentlemen of Red Sox Nation, I give you your 2004 World Series Champions...

(wait for it...)

The Boston Red Sox

Strange...the world didn't end...although there was a ominous eclipse and stuff.

They didn't fold.

It was even anticlimactic...yeah, the Cardinals got one guy on base in the 9th, but when you're up by 3, that's not enough.

It wasn't like the last couple of Patriots Super Bowl victories, where you had the ultimate stress of one play being the one that put them over the top...you had a 2 hour long marathon of counting...

"Just 15 more outs"

"Just 12 more outs"

"Just 11 more outs"

(etc, etc, etc)

I think I drove Rhiannon crazy because I was refusing to talk to her, even through her questions about the game...sorry dear, but...well...it's the Red Sox...1986 and 1978 were still too fresh in my mind...it wasn't over until it was over...I couldn't believe it.

I'm still not 100% sure I do believe it...

Checking redsox.com

"Red Sox are world champs"


previous - next

Random

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!