Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2003-08-16 - 9:58 p.m.

OKay, so, I'm sure you're all waiting on baited tenterhooks to find out "So, how was War, Gorm?"

So, instead, I'm going to talk about Politi...oh, no, wait...I'm gonna talk about War.

For once, I can honestly say that I had fun this year. I did my time doing service (2 shifts of Chirurgeoning and 2 at the Herald's Point), got to take a couple of classes (Introduction to Improv and Intro to Commedia), got to make a Royal Foole of myself in "Whoth Line Doth It be?" (and placed solidly in the middle of the pack, which don't suck), got to fight in three battles (Yeah, I know, I wanted to do 4, but 3 is still my personal record).

Oh, btw...Colin...I only shot one Knight...but it wasn't my fault.

From a fighter point of view War was a massacre something on the order of England over Argentina in the early 80's. The Mid won one point (Rapier Champions) and that only by one bout. The main War Point battles were...one-sided.

Day by Day:

MOnday - The Woods - I didn't go (beesting allergy and classes I wanted to take). However, I hear that the Mid only *just* barely held their...Res Point.

Tuesday - Castle Part One. I came, I saw, I got gacked. See, I had a nice cubby hole to shoot from, I had my 165 bolts ready to go, I had my backup crossbow ready just in case. They called lay on, I got to fire 5 shots, all of which missed (4 of them were just lofted "make em think" shots, the other was dodged), and then I get a nice solid "Thunk" in my back, turn around, and see a midrealm golf tube arrow at my feet.

So far as I can tell, it came from about 75 feet away...but it was clean, and it was good, and I was out.

We held the castle for 32 minutes of fighting time. We were somewhat concerned that wouldn't be enough.

Wednesday - Castle Part two. Ummm...it was plenty. We took the castle in SEVEN MINUTES AND TEN SECONDS. Yeah, I only shot one Knight, because only one presented himself. But hey, it cleared the parapet, and that was good.

Thursday - Bridge Battles. Three runs, me with spear for the first two. First one I never got to throw a shot, as Atlantia was in Reserve and by the time we got onto the Bridge, it was over. Second one, Atlantia had a bridge all to ourselves, and I got to play a little spear. Then became the target of a shield charge and died. I'd love to think I was the target, but I'd probably be lying, since I was directly behind Corby... However, we did win, and convincingly.

Third bridge I played CA, and gathered about 8-10 kills. Two of them being opposing archers, 4 or 5 spear dudes, and 2 that might have been folks trying to command. No Knights, but they weren't available to shoot (don't ask me where they were, but there were no White Belts to shoot at...I was kinda bummed...) But again, we won convincingly, and apparently my shooting gathered some attention from one of our Knights, as Her Highness related a compliment to me afterwards, which was cool.

The armor worked, but was HOT. Like Africa Hot. Like I need summer armor hot.

We left Friday AM, after we'd gotten a phone call that we had business to attend to at home. Which was a good thing by and in large, since we were done. But it was a good done.

So, only a mere 52 weeks until next year (it's a late War next year)

In other news, I am pondering disassociating myself from House DB...because of personality conflicts and the fact that it just isn't giving me any support. I'm the only Heavy fighter in the household, I'm one of two Rapier fighters, and the only CA. In other words, it's a service household, and although I do service, it isn't my be all and end all. The household only gets together at Pennsic, which is when I wanna fight, but it isn't supporting me.

In short, I just don't think it's a fit.

Oh well, we'll see what things bring.

Laters

previous - next

Random

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!