Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2003-03-01 - 4:35 p.m.

Well, everyone else has said everything that could be said...so I'll just say this.

Another may have brought us into the SCA, another may have tried to guide us early, and others may be guiding us along the path now, but Finnr is the reason we are still here.

When we went to our first couple of events, and then hibernated for the winter (out of not knowing anything else to do and being a little confused and concerned about political stuff we didn't understand), it was Finnr who called and did the "Hey guys, you doing okay? Haven't seen ya lately, wondering what's up, gimme a ring if ya need any help"

When the tension between various folks in the local area finally made itself so obvious to us that we couldn't ignore it any longer and we were wondering just what in the heck was going on, it was Finnr (and Balynar) who sat on the tailgate of a pickup truck and spent 2 hours after a fight practice explaining everything that happened in the "Summer of Love", as neutrally as possible, and taking great care to make sure when he was saying his opinion that he said "This is only my opinion, but..."

When I was floundering looking for something to do, it was Finnr who saw a Herald in me, and got me the Yarnvid Herald job, which turned into the Baronial Herald job, and now the Golden Dolphin Herald job.

One evening when the fight practice was going....badly...and I was throwing my stuff down in disgust with myself, it was Finnr who saw and pulled me off to the side and helped me...not by trying to show me a nifty flat snap, but by explaining that sometimes, some folks behave the way they do.

I learned entirely too much from him...and now there will be no more...guess it's time to try and make sure the next person has the benefit of the help.

I don't have a well defined "Afterlife" belief system, but I do know that whichever one of the 27,954 possibilities that are out there, James Howell is occupying the bestest one of whichever one is correct.

previous - next

Random

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!