Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2002-03-09 - 3:09 p.m.

PLayed with the chainsaw some this afternoon...finally chopped up the tree that fell down about a month ago into manageable chunks, and stacked them in a nice pile over by the treeline.

Now to figure out what in the heck to *do* with them now that I have them in logish sizes. We don't have a fireplace (well, we do, but it's a gas log), and the tree wasn't really big enough to ponder getting woodworking wood out of, so there's nothing there really.

Maybe someone will want some pine logs to burn next winter. Heck, maybe someone will want some for an event we're going to. Can't tote them to Pennsic, not enough space in the truck, but anytime other than that is a possibility.

I was amazed at how well the little Poulan chainsaw worked...it's an electric and only 14", and we bought it for $60 at Wal-Mart, so I was figuring it would struggle to get through the job, but nope, it cut through like a charm. The self-oiling thing for the chain self-oiled the chain nicely, it never bound up, it never kicked back (secret to effective chainsawing...keep the wood at the back of the blade, not out towards the end, it kicks back less...so sayeth the book, and I believe the book).

So, this probably means that it would go through the bodies of those who torque me off even better...haven't gotten any nominees yet for my "Date with a chainsaw" competition...I'm mildy depressed by that...but I'll get over it...they're probably all up against Christian's wall anyhow.

More importantly, Gina's got a job :)

LoI meeting tomorrow, that should be fun.

Not much else going on here in the real world...oh well.

previous - next

Random

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!