Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2004-08-08 - 9:54 p.m.

And now begins the four longest days of the year...

A lot of my friends are already at War.

We're mostly packed, the garb is washed and packed. The pavillion is packed, the armor is...well...mostly packed. The rapier gear is packed. The crossbow and bolts are packed. The loom and yarns are packed. The casting stuff is packed.

There's not much else to do but wait for 4:25 PM Thursday to roll around...and try to get some sleep.

I hear we got our cool camping space...yeah to the Landgrab team! I just hope there wasn't much bloodshed involved.

We have a lot to think about, had an interesting offer come to us yesterday, completely out of the blue, and although we think the offer is a wonderful one, we were asked to come up with questions, and it also prompts a need for me to figure out what I want to do with my SCA career.

I know that I want to continue fighting, and learn more. I also know that I'm not the kind of fighter who is thought of as anything other than a dilettante, and many folks hate dilettantes.

I prefer to think of myself as splitting my interests in many directions, a jack of all trades Master of None sort of thing...useful in a pinch. Maybe I can't give you 8 hours of excellent fighting, but I can guard your back for 8 minutes, when the need is there.

But, of course, my choices in life have painted me into a sort of a corner...and it's twice as hard to get out of that corner to somewhere else.

There are folks who I rub the wrong way...oddly enough, one of the people who I have recently heard actually *said* I rub him at times is one of the folks I rather admire in the SCA...yeah, we have differences, but I trust him and do try to listen when he talks.

I don't know where all this will lead in the long term...I do know where it will lead in just 90 hours and 21 minutes...Slippery Rock, PA.

Probably further updates this week, since I'm going to be anxious and bored out of my gourd. Besides, a 50 day layoff is plenty long enough :)

previous - next

Random

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!