Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2004-03-30 - 11:41 a.m.

OKay, I've got an hour to kill before going in to teach the wonders of the SELECT statement to a bunch of coworkers (well...it's not really *that* simple, but hey...), so I figure it's time for the once weekly Diaryland update...

For the benefit of both dedicated readers, that is...

Last weekend was spent doing a fair imitation of a bump on a log. About all we accomplished Saturday was to get the Satellite TV satellite upgraded to a dish that can receive signals from three satellites instead of 2...so now not only will we continue getting local channels when they move them over to the third satellite, but we also get access to about 75 Spanish/Japanese/Chinese language channels.

No, not all three languages at the same time...although that would be interesting...

Part of me does feel the need to learn Chinese, though, so I could find out just how they get off airing "Vision Erotic Deadly" on a Saturday at noon...alas, I can't review it as I would have had to have paid $19.95/month for the Chinese language channels...and it just ain't worth it for a lousy entry.

Of course...if someone wants to sponsor me...

Sunday was spent in blissful somnia. Seriously, I woke up at like 11:30 AM, ate lunch, then napped until 6 PM. Dunno what was making me so tired and cranky, but I was tired and cranky, so body said check please and sleep ensued.

This morning, we woke up an hour early to go to the gym...not many folks at the workout place at 6:30 AM...and they all had this uberserious "I have to be here...grunt...groan...I'd rather be asleep...grunt...groan" look about them. Of course, so did I most likely...but hey.

The goal is to be in sufficiently adequate shape to make it through Pennsic fighting in all of the battles, save the woods (beesting allergies and breathing problems). Really it won't be that difficult, since there's only one day that is going to be a *lot* of fighting, which would be the day the Queen's Spears fights the bridge battles in the AM, and then the first ever mass rapier War Point occurs in the PM.

Rapier War Point at Pennsic? Damn straight I'm there...I don't care if they have to drag me off the field on a cart afterwards (which is always a possibility..), I'm fighting in that bad boy. Besides, I'm obligated now, since Alejandro and the rest of my beloved fellow rapierists called me on my "OKay, so...if we're gonna do this, we need support, like this and this, and this, and this...oh, and while I'm at it, I'd like a pony".

Alas, looks like site restrictions will keep me from getting the pony, but I'll make do with what I've got.

And actually, toting my crap back and forth to the field this year won't be nearly as bad, since the Powers that Be(TM) have decided to severely limit the number of arrows/bolts archers can bring onto the field...for most battles it's 30, the exception being 100 for the castle battle, and no, no gleaning allowed.

This is being phrased as "Reproducing the period rate of fire of bows and crossbows". Technical issue...they obviously didn't study at all...since no English archer worth his salt was incapable of firing an arrow and having another one in the air at the same time...training to the point where both arrows hit the target at the same time even.

But, really, I guess I don't care...I never got to fire more than about 15 bolts in any of the battles last year...so I guess it really isn't a limit that's going to crimp my style.

And heck, I won't have to be at Inspection Point for 2 hours every day getting my box o bolts inspected and respraypainted...whoohoo! One quiver will do it.

Maybe I'll see about carrying a backup weapon too...sword and shield slung across the back for when/if I run out maybe...yeah, I know...no way.

It'll still be fun...now that we've got the camping situation more or less straightened out...at least, I think we do...

Okay, time to make sure I'm prepped before class...laters all.

previous - next

Random

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!