Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2003-10-30 - 9:42 a.m.

(sigh) Some people just don't get it.

It's not that my armor doesn't comply, and I don't want to change it (so far as I can tell, it does comply, especially with the "combat boots are okay" clarification from earlier this week).

It isn't that the fixes are difficult (they aren't).

It isn't that I'm upset about not having help (I had at least 20 offers to either teach me how to do something, or just to do it for me, all but one of which I turned down, because like I said, my stuff is in compliance).

It isn't that I feel a "right" to sit in my ugly Coleman Chair (Anyone who pays attention would have noted that generally of late I've been sitting in plywood peg chairs of our own creation, or we've had a cover for the chairs).

It isn't that I have a personal beef with Logan and anything he does/says is wrong (A - Cuan started the trend, and I have lots of respect for him, B - Logan and I have shared dinners, and although we have our differences, there is respect there, at least from me to him...I can't say about the other direction)

It isn't that I'm anti-authenticity. I don't have the tools to be perfectly authentic in any area, but in those areas I *want* to, I know how to get there from here, and I'm pursuing them, on my own pace.

It isn't that I think this is an invalid rule (it's valid, under the Laws of Atlantia and the way the SCA is set up)

It is that, in my opinion (apparently shared by some others), this Law will not accomplish it's stated objectives, and it goes against the fabric of inclusion which has, up until now, been the cornerstone of the SCA.

That scares me, and I believe it is ill-advised, so yes, I object, and I will continue to object.

Will it make a difference? Probably not. There are two people who can change the Law right now, and I haven't noticed their opinions on the subject. I doubt they have desire to change it, if they did it would have changed by now.

previous - next

Random

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!