Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2003-06-21 - 7:37 p.m.

So, courtesy of Bryce we bring you...the interview...

  1. What has been the biggest challenge that you havefaced as a husband?

    Probably the biggest thing I've had to get used to, and it hasn't been easy, has been realizing that I don't have to fight all of Rhi's battles. When someone does her wrong (either inside or outside the SCA), I have to completely swallow my desires to just grab that person and turn them into a pretzel.

  2. What is the hardest part of being a Kingdom Officer?

    Well, for the office I've got, it's been the fact that at many events, my time isn't my own. At many of the "big" events, I have to go and run the Consultation table, or at least check in and make sure things are going well at it. It isn't easy to pull myself away from the Crown Tourney or the like and go explain to someone that "No, I'm sorry, you can't be Rhiannon of the Misty Marsh where the Unicorns lie."

    That and the fact that even when I'm trying to have an "off" event, I can't get out of role. As an example, at Sapphire Joust last year, I had committed to doing as close to *nothing* as possible, other than tending to my inner stick jock. When someone came up to me and asked me to do a cry, I reacted badly, not because I didn't want to help, or anything like that, just a moment of "*sigh*I can't get away"...Fortuantely, I believe the person who asked understood, eventually.

  3. Name five hobbies that you have had in your life,besides the SCA.

    Wow..hmm...okay...I've been a diehard Roleplayer (actually went to GenCon one year and GM'd half a dozen games on a budget of $50...it's amazing how well you can eat off of the $5 "Thank you" coupons you got for running a session. I collected stamps as a kid (the collection's probably still at my parents house somewhere). I played High School and NCAA Tennis (Yes I did, you in the back stop laughing). I used to ride a bicycle almost religiously (that ended when I got a car...but still), and I used to collect Gor books (It's a wonderfully lousy swordplay fantasy series, until about the 12th book when the author decided to just start mailing in Swords, Slavery and Sex plots.

  4. Who has been the kindest to you, since you joined the SCA?

    It's been different people as things have evolved. Balynar brought me into the SCA (So go blame him :) ), but my and Rhi's paths weren't anything like his at the time. For a while Sir Amalric was just short of Godlike to us...it helped that he lived literally around the corner...the Godlike aspect lessened as we learned more, but still, he kept me around during the first year. Finnr was the one who got me doing Heraldry and was always able to just sit there and let me vent.

  5. Favorite junk food? Favorite healthy food? Favorite Pasta Dish?

    Favorite Junk Food is probably a Double Quarter Pounder with Cheese. Healthy...hmm...not sure if it's *really* healthy or not, but I make a mean Chicken Pasta salad with vegetables. Okay, I'll use that for the Pasta Dish and the Healthy one at once.

Okay, that's about it for now, have to go see if the ice cream is frozen yet (Homemade Coffee ice cream...another possible favorite junk food...)

previous - next

Random

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!