Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2003-04-27 - 11:50 a.m.

CHAIRS! We have CHAIRS!

It's taken all (*&^(* weekend, but we have two wooden peg chairs created. All that is left is some detail cutting, finishing, and pegging.

And I'm singing the praises of the rotary cutting tool. It made the keyhole slots a simple proposition. So much so that the second chair fit *perfectly* on first try.

It's amazing what the right tool can do for you.

So, we'll be looking a little more spiffy this summer...yeah us. Now to figure out what to do about this asinine "Plastic must be painted or covered" rule. The SCA is complaining about losing members, and so we put in a rule making it *more* difficult for potential fighters to get started...brilliant.

And now, apparently, the rule is going to be made even worse, by saying "All modern materials" must be covered. Betcha they don't have to paint their stainless steel helms. Stainless steel, after all, is what the power players wear, and therefore it doesn't matter that is wasn't invented until the 1950's.

Nor will some of the ruder fighters stop smoking around the list field. Tobacco smoking is post-period, but that law (which is already *in* law) gets broken constantly.

I could see a rule saying "You must have periodesque armor to fight in Crown Tournament", on the logic that if you're going to be leading the Kingdom, you should lead in that way as well. I could see an informal pressure mechanism urging folks to upgrade to better stuff as they determine "Hey, I can do this and enjoy it". But telling Joe Newbie that they have to jump to the head of the class in terms of armor before even authorizing...ill-advised...just ill-advised.

Of course, I'm not allowed to speak at Curia, so my opinions are worthless. Well, if I wanted democracy, I wouldn't be in the SCA, right?

At least I have chairs.

previous - next

Random

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!