Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2003-04-07 - 7:36 p.m.

So, my experience with the Civil Court system here in Virginia is over...

The forces of Justice met the forces of evil...and it was basically a draw.

Instead of the $135, plus $36 court costs and 18% APR interest compounded from last June 10th they asked for, they got $75, $36 in COurt costs, and no interest.

Instead of the complete dismissal I asked for, I basically got $60 knocked off the bill and they got no interest.

So I saved somethign like $78....and missed 16 hours of work (at $30/hr) in the process...

Somehow I think it was an economic loss...but the Principal of the Matter fell in my favor. The judge ruled that they didn't do all of the tests the contract required.

Unfortunately, there is apparently a principle in Virginia law that even if you only do some of what you say you will do, you're entitled to be paid for that portion, even if your failure to do all of it made the other party have to go to extraordinary expense...

Stupid law...stupid lawyers...

Funnily enough, the $75 was right around what I offered to settle this entire mess back last June.

How dumb is that?

At least I didn't hire a lawyer, that would have just pissed me off and cost me an additional $400 to get the same result.

previous - next

Random

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!