Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2003-02-10 - 2:18 p.m.

One word for Ymir...cold...but if you were there you knew that already, so let's move on.

Fought in the rapier tourney, as my heavy stuff wasn't ready yet (and won't be, unless I ever find some rivets...but I think Rhi's got a line on some...we'll see). As it turns out, given the rapid pace of the rapier tourney, I couldn't have squeezed in the Heavy Tourney as well anyhow. 6 fights in probably half an hour...and all but one of them was a good one.

Yeah, I went 1-5...but I got complimented by the Marshal for our list on several of my fights. Probably could have claimed two other double kills, but although the shot I took was definetely good, the shot I threw was not good enough...both opponents asked if I had it, but I thought they both skipped off at best, so no.

Besides, it's for fun :)

This was the first time I'd seriously put on the stuff since university last October, when I took the Rapier Eval Clinic. Only really took one thing from that clinic, but apparently it's a biggie...I had been leaning *waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay* too far forward, thereby making my head a perfect target, and that showed up on the film. So I was making a conscious effort to stay back and lead with a sword, rahter than a skull...it apparently worked. Only one of my fights was the stereotypical Gormskewering. The others were several good passes, a couple of nice flurries, and then an exchange that I just happened to get the worst of...Not bad all told.

Still not Yellow scarf material, but hey, Rhiannon just wove me a lovely blue scarf, so I don't wanna advance yet anyhow (grin).

We bugged out shortly after the Tournament, because all three of us (Me, Rhi, and our friend Beth) were cold and not quite feeling right. We got to see Andrew get his Knighthood, and that was why we went anyhow, so all is good. Gotta remember to give him the copious congratulations he deserves next time I talk to him.

Sunday I was sick, not sick as a dog, but sick enough to be a bump on a log. Mostly stress over the 1:00 today "Hearing on unemployment eligibility". I've been stressing on that for two weeks now.

As it turns out, it was basically 5 questions amounting to "Did they give you a reason for firing you? (no)", "Did you have any warnings or reprimands before this (no)", "What happened on the last day (I was at the doctor's office and then got the call)", and that sort of thing. I think I'm in the clear, but the company has 48 hours to answer similar questions before a determination gets made. I do know this, if I don't get my benefits, I *will* call a lawyer.

So that stress is gone...yeah! Also got a lead on two possible short term contracts, and got the last two transcripts from the colleges I attended, so I can start to actively pursue becoming a teacher. It'll be good to feel like I'm making progress again. I've been out of sorts for two weeks. Need to get moving again.

Okay, that's about it. Time to ponder what's next on my plans to get past all f this.

previous - next

Random

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!