Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2003-02-03 - 3:53 p.m.

Okay, into the breech we go...

Yep, I've made the decision, I'm going to walk down the path of becoming a secondary mathematics teacher and see where it takes me for a while.

This means a new set of hoops to jump through, different sorts of references to get (That wonderful nerdie reference that says you're the greatest DBA since normal forms were invented doesn't really help much when you're applying for a job explaining how 2x+2 = 4 means that x = 1).

Like, for example, I have to get all of my transcripts from my college days. I haven't looked at a *transcript* since...1993 I think. Hell...my final undergraduate College transcript didn't even matter for me to get into grad school (since I'd gotten accepted based on my first three years and the strength of my GRE scores), and my jobs in computers weren't gotten on the basis of my grades, just that I had a degree.

Still, I had a 3.25 GPA as an undergrad, with something like a 3.5 in Math classes (once you get past the fact I had to take Calc 1 three times to understand it, until I ran into a good teacher...the kind of teacher I hope to become). And I don't think the end of my career in Grad School is going to hurt. Yeah, I dropped out...but it was because I couldn't deal with the stress and financial burden of grad school. Besides, it was Political Science, not math.

We'll see how it goes...I'm hopeful. The gentleman in charge of hiring Math teachers for Chesterfield County sounded very hopeful and interested in me when I spoke to him today. If not there, somewhere else will come up, I am sure.

So I'm off down that path, let's hope it's fairly smooth.

Gotta go get Rhi and some groceries, talk to you all later.

previous - next

Random

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!