Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2003-01-28 - 9:27 p.m.

Wow...useful technology...from the State of Virginia...I'm in shock.

For those of you just joining in, I was expecting to spend the better part of tomorrow sitting in a Virginia Employment COmmission office waiting for the chance to fill out forms, filling out the forms, waiting for the forms to be processed, to be cattle called into a conference room with 24 other people and given a lecture about how to file to receive my weekly check, then given a sheet of paper with the exact same instructions on it, and another sheet of paper telling me how much I would get.

Fun...oodles and oodles of fun...NOT!

So I was hitting the Unemployment Commission Website, to get the address for the Petersburg Office, when I see a link "File your initial claim for Benefits online". Followed it, expecting to find out it was either a) useless, or b) under construction or c) not something I could use, because I'm a right handed programmer, and only left handed pipefitters can use it, or some such.

But, amazingly enough, 10 minutes later, I had completed the process and am now just waiting for a mail containing the booklet and determination.

Wow.

Not sure who made it or why, but they done good.

In other news, I hopefully won't need it for long anyhow, as I have a phone interview with a consulting company tomorrow at 3 PM. It's only for a short term DBA contract, but still, it will at least be income and buy me time to do a complete job search, rather than a rushed one I'm doing currently. Here's hoping.

previous - next

Random

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!