Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2003-01-22 - 8:52 a.m.

OKay...I now have to don my amateur epidemiologist hat...

Who amongst our illustrious bunch has had a sinus infection/head cold since a few days after 12th Night? I know myself, Rhiannon (my wife, not the other one), Bryce, Balynar, and Bambi have had them at the very least. And the other Rhiannon sounds under the weather too.

(Update...okay...so the other Rhiannon's got a migraine, and not the Plague...that's good for her...well...sorta...not really sure if I'd prefer a migraine or this sinus crap.)

ON the plus side, mine seems to be clearing out. Managed to sleep through last night without any NyQuil...still hacking up the better portion of a lung here at the desk today, but I think I can make it through without more meds...this is good...I firmly believe that underusing meds is better than overusing them unless you're *really* sick (like, in the hospital sick), if only because that way, when you really need em, there isn't any resistance or anything to them built up.

Yeah, it's probably junk science...but it works for me. Mankind managed to survive for millions of years before Tylenol and NyQuil...somehow I suspect we can live with minimal doses of it today.

On an unrelated note...no, I'm not sending the note that was the subject of yesterday's entry...just writing it purged some of the demons. I'll give it another couple of months, and if the situation doesn't improve, then it'll be time to start pondering a job change.

Chances are I'll hang on until Pennsic anyhow, if only so I don't mess up my vacation. Yeah, I know, I could negotiate for that week off when I took another job, but I'm not all that good of a job negotiator, so chances are I'd either forget or screw it up.

The new suit of body armor is under construction. Rhiannon and I took all of the plates out of the old one last weekend, and she has sewn together the fabric for the body portion of the new one. I have to get the rivets out of the plates before we can get a heck of a lot farther along in this. We're moving the closure over to the middle of the front rather than the side, because it will a> make it easier for me to get in and out of my own armor, which is always good, and b> resolve the issue with the buckles gapping and creating an armor-free zone right at my left hip, which seems to be a preferred target zone (Yes, I know..."Learn to block that"...it's not easy to learn to block something when you're rolling on the ground in pain from a completely unblocked and unarmored shot to your hip pointer at full force (just about anyone can throw that shot with exceptional speed and power, it's easy to throw). Yes, I'm a wimp...your point? Even just getting a plate of kydex in the way should help a little.

The goal is to have it done in time for Ymir, so I can attempt the dreaded (and suicidal) Heavy and Rapier tourney from Hell day...had a lot of fun doing it at Caer Mear Baronial Champions back in July, yeah, I was wiped at the end of the day, but it was a good wiped. Should be easier at Ymir if only because Ymir's heavy tourney is a simple double-elim. Dunno what the rapier scenarios are. It may not be feasible, but if it is, I'm gonna give it a try.

On matters Heraldic...January's LoI is in the mail, gotta assemble the packet for Laurel and get it in the mail this weekend, but the system is starting to work...hopefully that will make this year a little less stressful.

That's about it, really. Got comments? Leave em in the guestbook :)

previous - next

Random

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!