Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2002-08-29 - 11:13 a.m.

So...

What shall we talk about today?

I should say something ubercontroversial, cuz noone's reading my thoughts anyhow.

On the other hand...maybe it's a good thing noone's reading my thoughts, keeps everyone from wondering just what the 6'6" leggy supermodels, cheeze whiz, and a trampoline are doing together...

Just kidding...we all know cheeze whiz isn't on my diet...

So this afternoon it'll be another excursion into the wonderful world of DBAness...today we'll be overanalyzing why the database runs slow.

Hmm...could it be because we have 30 users entering 5000 records a week into a database hosted on the functional equivalent of a Timex SportsWatch (WITHOUT the expanding wristband) on a network designed by "Fred and Ernie's LAN and Pizza Delivery"?

Nahh...it couldn't be that...we must not have enough indexes...

On the plus side, my documentation is better than Some programmer over at Balynar's office . Heck, I've got a 96 page manual telling me exactly what I wanted this database to look like...

Back before they changed all of the requirements...

Why no...I haven't updated it...haven't had time...why do you ask?

So Coronation is in about a week. Logan and Isabel step down, Cuan and Padraigin step up. Me? I'll be behind the Consultation table as per usual. No fighting for me this time around...had most of the summer to be stickjock/wireweenie/archerman...now it's back into the Green bodysuit with the crossed trumpet insignia and look...up in the sky...it's the Herald signal!!!

Of course, in order for that to work right, I need a sidekick...PursuivantBoy...an overeager little herald in training...he constantly is putting color on color and charging vetu's, but in a jam he's always the one who remembers "But wait Golden Boy! You get a CD under X.5.j.ii.xxx.23/d sub 5 for changing the orientation of the quadratertertiary charges by 6.7 degrees."

And the evil ConflictMan is defeated again...

OKay...I think it's safe to say I'm officially rambling...yeah me!

previous - next

Random

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!