Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2003-04-24 - 1:44 p.m.

OKay, it's official...I'm on the downslope...the formal "I'm resigning in January, get your bid in" letter has appeared in the Acorn and the Heralds website, and folks are bidding.

It's been almost exactly two years since I began considering this position, and wow, what a 2 years it's been...lost two jobs, spent a total of 4 months unemployed, bought a house, torqued off a number of folks, and made a bunch of others very happy.

I don't know that I can say I've done an "excellent" job, but I do believe I've done as well as I can thusfar, and will continue to do so for the remaining time I am in office.

Has it been worth it? Ask me again in late December, but so far...I suppose so...they say service is it's own reward...but this particular service could be being done so very much better if folks weren't tied by "we've always done it this way...". The powerful forces of status quo are STRONG in the College of Arms...and the backstabbing and talking behind your back remind me a lot of High School.

See...the SCA is a lot like High School. The Heavy fighters are the football team, with the King as Quarterback. They can get away with just about anything, get to make the social rules, and everybody gets out of their way...and if they do anything bad enough to get in severe trouble, the repricussions are HUGE.

The rapier fighters are the other jocks...they get some respect for being active, they get some cookies, but they aren't looked up to in quite the same way the football players are.

The Pelicans are the Prom Committee...folks take advantage of their hard work with few if any thanks other than a brief introduction at the Prom and a polite round of applause...but at the same time, if they went away, the entire school would collapse.

The Laurels are the art clique. Their skills elicit oohs and aaahs, and folks are impressed, but most folks look at them a little...strange...

The Heralds...they're student council. Work with me on this one by thinking about what your student council did...chances are they spent hours and hours arguing about nothing important, they probably rewrote the student body constitution at least once, and they had control over a piece of things that *they* consider uber important, but most everybody else thought was just something that had to be done.

I was on student council in both High School and College, and I've been in the College of Arms for 2 years now...and the similarities are very striking to me...perhaps you need to be inside to see them...or not.

The biggest thing I wonder though, is will I be able to convince Colin to do an epic "Death of Golden Boy" story in January? I can ask, I guess.

Chair weekend this weekend...and ofcourse it's supposed to rain...hopefully it'll dodge us, or we'll be able to work around the rain.

previous - next

Random

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!